NWSL Adds More High-Profile Sponsors

Nationwide and Ally become the most recent companies to invest in NWSL.

By Alex Holmes

Less than one week ahead of the NWSL Challenge Cup, the league announced the addition of two new sponsorship deals with Nationwide and Ally.

The league announced the new deal with Nationwide on March 29. Nationwide is now the NWSL’s first exclusive insurance partner. Nationwide will assist with community service projects in NWSL team markets. The insurance company will also present the inaugural community impact award at the end of the season to reward one NWSL team for its commitment to community service.

Nationwide is one of the league’s newest sponsors. (Source: NWSL)

“The NWSL and Nationwide are committed to the growth of this sport, investing in our athletes and creating a platform where we can make a difference in NWSL communities together,” said NWSL Commissioner Lisa Baird in a league press release

Ally is the first official banking partner to join forces with the NWSL. The sleeves of all NWSL jerseys will feature the Ally logo. An exciting feature of the partnership includes a Player Impact Focus Program, which will direct a portion of Ally’s sponsorship fees directly to NWSL players.

“The NWSL and Ally are game changers in our respective industries and the opportunity to showcase our shared-values and commitment to leveling the playing field is an extraordinarily unique proposition in the world of sports sponsorship,” Baird said.

Ally’s sponsorship deal includes supporting player pay. (Source: NWSL)

Nationwide and Ally join Budweiser, CBS, Nike, Secret, Twitch, and Verizon as official league sponsors.

The news comes just over a week from the beginning of the 2021 season. The first weekend of the Challenge Cup will see a rematch of the 2020 Challenge Cup final between the Houston Dash and Chicago Red Stars, as well as the NWSL debut of Racing Louisville FC.

The 2021 NWSL season begins on Friday, April 9 at 8:30 P.M. ET when the Dash and Red Stars open up play on the CBS Sports Network. The Challenge Cup will run through May 8. The ten-team league is divided into an East division and a West division. The winner of each division will advance to the championship match on May 8. The East division is composed of Louisville, North Carolina, Orlando, Washington, and Sky Blue. The OL Reign, Portland, Kansas City, Houston, and Chicago will compete for first place in the West division.

The 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup begins April 9 and runs through May 8. A full schedule of the league’s second Challenge Cup is available here. The 24-game regular season begins on May 15.

Share this story:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *